The Conference will be held in Yerevan, at National Academy of Sciences of Armenia (Bagramyan ave., 24). Distance from Zvartnots International Airport to center of Yerevan is about 15 km. Yerevan is the capital of Armenia and one of the oldest cities in the world, almost 2800 years old. It stretches under the gaze of biblical mountain Ararat. Modern Yerevan is colorful city with buildings of unique architecture, constructed from volcanic tufa, basalt, marble and onyx stone.

Yerevan is leading industrial, cultural, and scientific centre, Yerevan is also a rail junction and carries on a brisk trade in agricultural products. The city's industries produce metals, machine tools, electrical equipment, chemicals, textiles, and food products. Educational and cultural facilities include a university, the Armenian Academy of Sciences, a state museum, and several libraries.
Archaeological evidence indicates that the fortress of Yerbuni stood on Yerevan's site in the 8th cent. BC The city, known in the 7th century AD, was the capital of Armenia under Persian rule and became historically and strategically important as a crossroads of the caravan routes between Transcaucasia and India. After the downfall (15th cent.) of Timur's empire, to which Yerevan belonged, the city passed back and forth between Persia and Turkey. In 1440 it became the center of East Armenia. During the 17th century Yerevan was a frontier fort and a caravan trading point. It became the capital of the Yerevan khanate of Persia in 1725. Taken by Russia in 1827, the city was formally ceded by the Treaty of Turkmanchai (1828). Yerevan was the center of independent Armenia from 1918 to 1920, when it became the capital of the newly formed Armenian SSR; in 1991 it once again became independent Armenia's capital.
In the end of November average temperature is about +3 +6oC.


Cultural Program of Conference includes visiting the following ancient memorials and museums.

Garni Temple & Geghard monastery Tour

Garni temple which towers over a triangular cape, is the unique survived example of heathen culture in Armenia. It is a blend of Greco-Roman and Armenian styles and dedicated to the God of Sun (Fire). The only pagan temple existent in Armenia (1st century) and structure of the temple with its columns and dimensions was created to please the gods and protect the people from their wrath. After adopting Christianity in 301 the pagan temple lost its significance and the fortress of Garni became the summer residence of the Armenian kings.

 Nowadays the ruins of the royal palace and the bathroom with a stunning mosaic work can be found near the temple. Garni temple was destroyed by an earthquake in 1679 and rebuilt in the 20th century.
In Garni Canyon one can explore stunning geological monuments, represented by columnar basalts, which are the result of lava flows. Bazalt masses are broken into polyhedral columns, which due to their regularity of form have gained the name "Bazaltic Organ".

You'll be greeted by the hospitable villagers of Garni. Here you will have a chance to taste Armenian national bread -lavash, baked in a traditional pit called a "tonir", with matsun (homemade yoghurt).
Geghard ancient monastery was carved out of solid rock. The exact date of Geghard's foundation is not known, but according to the inscriptions found locally dating from the 7th and 8th centuries. From the outset the complex was called Ayrivank (cave monastery), later it was renamed

Geghard (lance), as the lance used by the roman soldier to sting Jesus Christ's side, was kept in this monastery for many years. The main church dates back to 1215 and due to its construction serves the best place for singing spiritual songs. There exists a natural spring inside the church's interior, anciently worshipped and today carefully preserved. The complex is rich in subtle sculptural embellishments and many striking khachkars (cross-stones).


Matenadaran Tour

The Matenadaran, the Institute of Ancient Manuscripts, was founded in 1959 as the State depository of manuscripts. The Matenadaran is named after Mesrop Mashtots, the creator of Armenian Alphabet. 17 000 completely preserved handwritten books and more than 2000 partially preserved manuscripts are the core of the Matenadaran's collection. The majority of the books have precious leather covers with stamping and silver pressing. Most are full of elaborate miniatures, very important elements of medieval Armenian art.

The Matenadaran has departments of Bibliography and Textual Studies, Old Chronicles, Medieval Chronicles, Documents and Miniatures Studies, Preservation, Restoration and Copying of Manuscripts and Archival Documents. It also has a library with a huge stock of Armenian studies-related publications.
The Matenadaran building has the advantageous position of being located on a hill at the end of the Mashtots Avenue. It dominates the centre of Yerevan. This building made of basalt reflects the forms and specifics of Armenian architecture.

Echmiadsin Tour

20 km far from Yerevan there is the centre of Armenian Apostolic Church - St. Echmiadzin, the Holy See and official residence of the Catholicos of All Armenians. The Cathedral of Echmiadzin was built at the beginning of the forth century and is one of the oldest churches in the world. According to the legend the church was built in the place where apparition of Jesus Christ was seen to Grigorius the Illuminator in the dream. In 303 A.D., two years after Christianity was declared the State Religion,

 the Mother Church of the Holy See was built. It was rebuilt in the 480s. Through the centuries there have been construction and additions, and the main dome was rebuilt in 1627. The interior of the Cathedral is covered with frescoes created by Hovnatanyan family in 1720. The church is surrounded by gardens, where excellent examples of armenian "khachkar"s are demonstrated. The residence of the Catholicos, Treasure's Museum and the Theological Academy are situated near the Cathedral.

The St. Hripsime church, one of the oldest churches in Armenia was built in 630. St. Hripsime is a beautiful example of Armenian architecture of the classical period.

Zvartnots is considered the masterpiece of Armenian church architecture. This marvellous temple is a result of skillfulness and brave creativity of Armenian architects of 7th century. Here a mighty three-tiered circular structure once stood, with a glorious central dome. The Cathedral was magnificently decorated with sculptured floral and geometric patterns and decorative pillars and arches, the ruins and remnants of which you can see on the grounds.

Yerevan Brandy Company Tour

We plan a visit to this famous plant (during last 120 years ARARAT is the most recognized in the world Armenian brand), to receive detailed information on secretes of Armenian Brandy production and test different kinds of Armenian Brandy.


Noravank Tour

Passing a narrow road surrounded by rocks of hundred caves one discovers a scene of harmony of architecture with nature. The monastery enshrined with fine architectural solutions and luxurious embellishments is one of the brightest examples of Armenian architecture of the 13th century. Noravank consists of St. Karapet, St. Grigor the Illuminator churches and St. Astvatsatsin (Holy Mother of God) two-storey church, which is notable for its ideal constructive and sculptural work.


Lake Sevan Tour

The fascination and the pearl of mountainous Armenia is Sevan Lake, which is one of the world's greatest high altitude fresh-water lakes. It is about 1900 m above sea level. The lake is of volcanic origin and is surrounded with mountains of 3000 m and higher. The beautiful landscape and the crystal water serve nice preconditions for excellent rest. A marvellous scene opens in the north-western part of Sevan Lake, where the peninsula towers over the transparent surface of

the lake. Sevanavank monastery was built on the peninsula in 874 by the order of king Ashot Bagratuni's daughter princess Mariam. The silhouette of the churches against the background of the turquoise lake and blue sky casts unexplainable impression on the visitors.


State History Museum of Armenia

The Museum was founded in 1919.. The Museum had Archeology, Ethnography, Historiography and Fine Arts sections. The Museum collections became the main resource for starting up a number of museums (Museum of History of Yerevan, Armenian Ethnographic Museum, etc.). The archeological groups of the Museum conduct excavations on various sites and publish monographs and collections of research papers. Currently the Museum has about 400,000 exhibits,

over 5,000 of which are on a permanent display.



The memorial-complex to the victims of the Armenian genocide in 1915 towers over Tsitsernakaberd hill. At the centre of the monument there is the Memorial Sanctuary with an eternal flame and twelve, tall basalt slabs leaning over the flame. As a part of the Monument the arrow-shaped 44 meters high granite stele symbolizes the spiritual rebirth and bold spirit of the Armenian people. The Genocide Museum is a special constituent part of the complex. The exhibit contains many large photos taken by the witnesses, archival documents, documentary films and the original documents issued by international organizations and parliaments of foreign countries condemning the Genocide.


Martiros Saryan Museum

The Museum was built during the lifetime of the artist, next to his home and studio. Since 1967, it has operated as a branch of the National Art Gallery. The top and middle floors of this three-storey building exhibit paintings from 1898-1970, and the ground floor displays the artist's drawings. Following the artist's death in 1972, his studio also became a part of the museum. 80 paintings donated by the artist make up the core of the collection. Subsequent donations and acquisitions augmented the collection to 170. The museum organizes exhibitions of Saryan's paintings worldwide.


Ervand Kochar Museum

The Kochar Museum was founded in 1984 on the basis of Master's Studio. The Museum of Yervand Kochar is an exceptional centre of historical Avantgarde in the region. The creative work of the artist and sculpture Yervand Kochar /1899-1979/ is one of the most interesting phenomena in the XX century. In 1923-36, living in Paris, he became a rightful member of artists' "Paris School", giving life to an art, which put his name among those great artists, who dictated the proceeding events in the European Avantgarde and World Fine Arts in the 20-30's of XX century. In 1936 he migrates to Armenia, followed by prison, isolation... Notwithstanding, the "Yerevan Period" of his work also had a great success, including such exemplary as the canvases as "The Eagle of Zvartnots", "Melancholy", "The Muse of Cybernetics", "Vardan Mamikonyan"

sculptures, and "Sasountsi David" sculpture that became a symbol of Yerevan.


Aram Kachaturyan Museum

The museum building consists of the memorial containing personal belongings of the composer, an exhibition hall displaying items related to his musical and social life, a concert hall that hosts symposia and concerts, and a research centre containing manuscripts, documents, printed scores, books, etc. The Museum has about 18 thousand items collected from 55 countries. The Museum is one of the main centres of research on Khachaturyan's work.



[Home] [Scope] [Organizers] [Call for Papers] [Proceedings] [Venue] [Hot News] [Key Dates] [Language] [Secretariat] [Links]